• Your Reviews

    Your experience is very important to us and we really appreciate all your feedback. We learn and act on everything we hear from you.

     

    So far we are proud to have had consistent 5 star reviews from all our guests along with some very generous comments.

     

    We rely on the feedback of others when we travel so we thought we would share some of the reviews we got here...

    Ian, August 2017

    "Had a fantastic stay. Kathy was a wonderful host. She sets the highest standards for her property. Location is convenient for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounding areas. The info book is extremely helpful for visitors. Parking is extremely. convenient. Absolutely no negative comments."

    Anon, August 2017

    "Very clean apartment and very responsive owner. The apartment was extremely clean and nicely equipped. The beds were quite comfortable. As the photos suggest, the apartment is in a complex that includes grassy areas, giving the neighborhood a somewhat suburban feel even though it is within the city. Inside, there were all the necessities. Kathy met us when we arrived and showed us how to control the heat and hot water, etc.

    We had two problems during our stay. One was our fault, one was not. Kathy responded IMMEDIATELY to both of them and could not have been nicer. She is a professional.

    If you need to be within walking distance of everything, this may not be your location of choice. However, we used Uber when we wanted to spend time downtown even though we had our own rental car. Parking downtown is much more trouble than it is worth. We found Uber to be quick, cheap, reliable and convenient. The ride to the city center was 10 - 15 minutes. We drove our car to the nearby Tesco for grocery shopping. Parking was plentiful there. We very much appreciated the sense of peace and quiet that this location afforded us. We were close to the city center but not in it.

    Coming from the US where we have a rather large house, we found the living room too small to actually relax in, but we got a lot of mileage out of the kitchen and the bedrooms. If we had wanted to watch TV, the living room would have been fine, but who comes to Scotland to watch TV?

    Overall, the apartment had the feel of something that is very new, modern and clean. It suited us very well. And as I said earlier, Kathy is a pro, and that means a lot when something goes wrong. I recommend it highly."

    Roy, July 2017

    "Edinbothy is a beautiful flat in a beautiful neighborhood. There is ample space for four people, a well-appointed kitchen-dining area, excellent TV and internet, and luxurious beds. Everything is modern and works well. The supermarket is walking distance, and the 23 bus takes you from the doorstep to bustling Morningside and to the City Center. There is also ample free parking. Edinbothy is a jewel for any family visiting Edinburgh."

    Nathan, May 2017

    "We really enjoyed our stay at the Edinbothy. Kathy was very helpful and made us feel welcome immediately. The apartment is very modern and feels like it was just remodeled. Everything you need for a quiet getaway outside the hustle and bustle of central Edinburgh."

    Cindy, May 2017

    "The Edinbothy was the perfect place for our family during our week in Edinburgh! It was just the right amount of space for my huband and me, along with our two young adult children. The apartment was very clean and well appointed with everything we needed for our week's stay. Kathy was so kind and helpful; communication was great and her directions were very clear. We very easily manuevered the bus to go into the city centre most days. We look forward to staying at the Edinbothy again when our travels take us back to Edinburgh!"

    Bruno, April 2017

    "Lovely flat in a quiet location. I went for a weekend with my family to visit Edinburgh, we had a pleasant reception with the owner. The house had everything you need for a couple of days, the location is very quiet and with a bus stop near which takes about 30m to town. In future visit we will take this property in consideration"

    Yulia, April 2017

    “We had a fantastic stay in Edinbothy. The accommodation is superb! We found everything we could possibly wish for in Edinbothy. The beds are fantastic and we had a best sleep ever. Kathy is an amazing host. Communication was great. Kathy recommended us few places to visit which we did and are very grateful for the advice. Our trip was superb! Edinbothy is a fabulous place located in a very quiet and safe area, near to the centre. We would highly recommend it and would definitely stay again.”

    Gail, March 2017

    "Kathy has been an amazing host with great communication on all aspects of our stay. It has been the perfect location and space for us. We really couldn't fault it! We've absolutely loved our time at Edinbothy. We managed to extend our stay for an extra week which was brilliant! The property was spacious, well appointed and quiet, meaning you get a great nights sleep! It is only a short walk from Morningside but there is also a bus stop with a great bus service from the end of the road! I would definitely recommend this place to anybody visiting Edinburgh. "

    Suzanne, November 2016

    "Thank you for everything we really enjoyed are stay in edinbothy, I think it was the best apartment we've ever had in Scotland!"

    YY417, October 2016

    "Kathy our host is super caring and sweet, great on informing and checking in before our arrival. She did all she could to ensure we have all we needed for our stay even set up extra bed in the bedroom for us at last minute. Greatly appreciate that! Her house is cozy and tidy, everything is maintained at good condition and she provided more than just basics. When we went down to Cotswolds My parents kept comparing that holiday house with Kathy's and nonstop reminded me how great they think Kathy's place is :) The neighbourhood is quiet and mainly families living there, the small area outside Kathy's house is perfect for little walk with my kid. Driving from her house to anywhere in Edinburgh is convenient. I will definitely stay at Kathy's house again when we visit edinburgh next time. Thank you again :)"

    Mark, October 2016

    “Everything was how it was described. No surprises. Kathy was really hospitable and even arranged to meet us for an early check in. She had also arranged a cot and high chair for us. Will be back. Can't recommend it enough.”

    William V, August 2016

    "We arrived late to the Edinbothy but Mrs. Gillies was there to greet us, share a few extra minutes of her time and welcome our senior citizen group of 4. The facility is well appointed, comfortable, reasonably priced, conviently located in a lovely section of the city. A five star experience

    Jonathan, 2016

    “The owner is extremely gracious and thoughtful, and has put a lot of care into creating a wonderful flat that is perfectly located in a charming and quiet neighborhood on the outskirts of Edinburgh.

    Joanna, 2016

    "We received a very warm welcome from the owner who explained how everything worked and what could be found where. This ground floor apartment is very well equipped, especially the kitchen. The fresh flowers, milk, butter, coffee etc were also a very nice touch. The apartment was spotlessly clean. It is located in a quiet suburb about 1/2 hour's bus ride from the centre of Edinburgh. The Royal Britannia ship took about 1/2 hour to reach by car and Edinburgh Zoo took only 15/20 mins so pretty handy. Thank you Kathy for a very nice stay"

    Jennifer, May 2016

    "I can't say enough wonderful things about the thoroughness and thoughtfulness put into beautiful Edinbothy. The owner was prompt in her responses via email and was extremely helpful for this first time visitor and her husband to Scotland. Our every need was met and then some. The home away from home, which sits in a lovely little neighborhood where you can hear the birds happily chirping away, sits perfectly situated to Edinburgh and all it has to offer. Not more than a few minutes walk to the bus stop get you into the city. There were 4 adults sharing the accommodations and we never felt cramped or in each others way, but we felt warm and comfy. We had a car and the parking was wonderful as we could park right in front of the house. The amenities within the house are wonderful and the little extra touch of the bread, jam, tea, coffee and butter were so welcoming to these very tired and jet lagged travellers. Edinbothy is well maintained and the pride and love for it shows through out. Everything you could possibly think of has been covered, including a very helpful information binder and if you are in need of assistance the owner was a phone call away. We can't say enough about Edinbothy and the owner. Our friends, my husband and I can say we made great memories in a great place! We look forward to a return trip and a lengthier stay!"

    Andrew, March 2016

    "Accommodation exactly as described. Very clean and well presented. Friendly owner who communicated well ensuring they were there on our arrival to show us around. The location is in a quiet suburb of Edinburgh which has the advantage of avoiding the inner city parking problems and costs. To some it may seem a little distant from the hub of activities in Edinburgh but there is a bus stop within 100 metres of the accommodation and that bus services runs every 10-20 mins right into the centre of town for a cost of only £1.50. An good array of starter provisions were provided but make sure you take other food with you do not have a car as it is a fair walk to the nearest store."

    Mark, 2016

    "Had a fantastic time at The Edinbothy. The house is in a great location, close to the city center and the freeway. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you needed, and there was more than enough space for a family of 4, with free parking... I can can totally recommend this place for any family"

    William, 2016

    "Perfect in every way. Wonderful modern apartment affording very comfortable accommodation for a family or as in our case 2 couples. Great location in peaceful urban setting but within easy reach of the city centre by bus and within walking distance of Morningside, Church Hill and Bruntsfield. Merchants Golf Course is right next door if you like golf or just an unspoilt walk"

    Cameron, January 2016

    "A really, really nice place. We stayed here with three young kids and it was perfect for us. (Our two year old slept in with us, and the other two in a separate bedroom with two singles; there's also a sofa bed available). It's in a quiet, safe attractive neighbourhood. The flat has all mod cons, and is very pleasant to stay in. It's very close to the bus stop for the regular 23 bus which goes past the university and straight through through the centre of town. There are also a couple of big supermarkets within about 1km if you have a car. Kathy the owner is friendly, helpful and highly professional, responding to all questions very quickly. I'm very happy to recommend it, and would definitely stay here again."

    Shevon, January 2016

    "This house was perfect for what I wanted, had all information available for tourists in Edinburgh and the outskirts, was very accommodating and friendly. The area was beautiful and very central! The house came fully equipped with everything we needed and more. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone, regardless if you are a tourist or not."

    Lincoln, October 2015

    "Beautiful Apartment. Stayed in this apartment for a business trip to the city. Location is excellent, with it being in a quiet, residential area, but also with easy access to the city centre, ~15 minutes away, through busses a couple of minutes walk away, or taxi. The apartment is a 2 bedroom one, one of them with an ensuite, and both bedrooms are relatively large. Kitchen and bathrooms came fully equipped, with coffee and toiletries also supplied, which is always a nice thing to have."

    Tracy, October 2015

    "Great place! Great rental! Nicely decorated with all the essentials. Nice big kitchen and the bedrooms are spacious. Quiet neighborhood but close enough to the city centre to see & do everything Edinburgh has to offer. The owners Kathy & Lachlan are super nice and incredibly helpful. Would definitely come back!"

    Christina, September 2015

    "The stay in the Edinbothy was everything we could have asked for. It was clean, well-equipped and in a perfect location for Edinburgh. Kathy was extremely accommodating with our checking-in and checking-out times. Thank you so much, will definitely consider using the house again for another stay in Edinburgh"

    Tom, 2015

    "Absolutely first class. We were 4 adults visiting our daughter and the other couple visiting our son in law We found the apartment very clean and spacious 2 double bedrooms and a kitchen with all the amenities There was also a nicely appointed sitting room with a flat screen TV To travel into town there was a bus stop 1 minute from our doorstep Morningside was a very pleasant 10 minute walk away so really no need for a car at all I would certainly recommend this apartment"

    Ian, August 2017

    "Had a fantastic stay. Kathy was a wonderful host. She sets the highest standards for her property. Location is convenient for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounding areas. The info book is extremely helpful for visitors. Parking is extremely. convenient. Absolutely no negative comments."